The Arsenal of Deceit

By Donald Levin of Ferndale

An award-winning fiction writer and poet, Donald Levin is best known for his Michigan-based Martin Preuss mystery series, which includes seven novels to date. His latest effort, Savage City, is a departure, with Detective Clarence Brown at the center. See the Product Description below for details about this book. Please buy all of your books directly from the author or an independent Michigan bookstore.

Buy book or more from Donald Levin books.

Product Price $26.95

Product Description

Detroit, 1941. With the nation on the brink of war, four people unite against the treachery that threatens America’s “arsenal of democracy.”

Eva Szabó, a young immigrant, goes undercover at the Ford Rouge Assembly plant to expose the company’s illegal campaign of anti-union violence. Her boss, private investigator Elizabeth Waters, infiltrates Detroit’s pro-Nazi, Christian nationalist fifth columnists. Police Detective Clarence Brown, part of a segregated squad of Black officers, uncovers a deadly conspiracy to ignite racial violence. And Detective Sergeant Denny Rankin seeks the links between them all to atone for his part in Detroit’s widespread corruption scandals.